So Long, Farewell…

Dear Class,

This Friday will be our last class together.  I must admit I have tears in my eyes as I am writing this letter to you. Time has gone by so fast… They say time flies when you are having fun. I guess it’s true. This has been an incredible year for us. We have grown and learned so much …and I am so proud of each one of you!

Oh boy, have we changed! We have shared all kinds of moments: happy, sad, fun, magical, crazy…

Such incredible memories, such meaningful adventures! We have stepped away from our comfort zones and dived into so many unforgettable experiences. You have created gingerbread houses, learned to write a response using RACE, you have played silent ball tons of times, begged to go outside, read more books than the entire school… and honestly  the list could go on and on.  By watching you  grow as readers,  I became aware of the kind of learning you need. I am definitely not the same educator that stepped into our classroom  in August. I have changed and grown too. What I liked the most was that we walked through this together.

All the adventuresgreat moments and difficult times have helped us create, not just a class, but our class. A friendly environment we all felt happy to be part of(when we weren’t acting like crazy people). Each of you has given their best, each of you has worked really hard throughout most of the year. I can’t find the words to describe how proud I am of you.

I must also let you in on a sad secret I have been keeping. My husband and I have decided that it is time for us to move back to Georgia. We have been away from our family for a long time and we are ready to be close to them again. I haven’t told you until now because I wanted to enjoy the last few days we had together without feeling sad (even though many of you noticed I was not acting normal).

I’m so thankful for all your smiles and hugs. I’m grateful for all we have shared. Thanks for opening your hearts and letting me be part of your lives, but I’d especially like to thank you for helping me become a better teacher. Thank you for making me feel that my job is not a job, but a passion. Thanks to you, I love being a teacher more and more every day. Each of you has made a difference for me. I will never forget you. I love you to the moon!!

Love,

Mrs. Caldwell

Leave a Reply

